GWCO Board of Directors

Douglas Melzer, O.D.

Oregon Director
13140 NE Halsey St.
Portland, OR 97230
[email protected]
(503) 253-7278

Michael Judkins, O.D.

President - Elect
Utah Director
5331 South Adams Ave. | Suite B
Ogden, UT 84405
[email protected]
(801) 479-7850

Hilary Hawthorne, O.D.

California Director
8453 S Vermont Ave.
Los Angeles, CA 90044
[email protected]
(323) 778-7799

Curtis Ono, O.D.

Washington Director
2501 North 45th St.
Seattle, WA 98103
[email protected]
(206) 526-5222

David Karpik, O.D.

Alaska Director
110 S Willow #108
Kenai, AK 99611
[email protected]
(907) 283-7575


Todd Smith, O.D.

Arizona Director
8877 W. Union Hills Dr. | Suite D-460
Peoria, AZ 85382
[email protected]
(623) 256-0400

Donna Ellinger, O.D.

Colorado Director
5471 W 97th Pl. | Unit A
Westminster, CO 80020

[email protected]
(303) 746-4223

Chris Sween, O.D.

Hawaii Director
4589 Kapolei Pkwy
Kapolei, HI 96707
[email protected]
(808) 674-3913


Robert Sorensen, O.D.

Idaho Director
8445 N Government Way, Hayden, Idaho, 83835
[email protected]
(208) 772-3208


Willie Thomas, O.D.

Montana Director
2106 Oxford St, Missoula, MT 59801
[email protected]
(406) 549-2541

Hilaire Pressley, O.D.

Nevada Director
6592 N. Decatur Blvd. | Ste 130
Las Vegas, NV 89131
[email protected]
(702) 998-8080

Mamie Chan, O.D.

New Mexico Director
5341 Wyoming Blvd NE | Ste D
Albuquerque, NM 87109
[email protected]
(505) 717-2005


Levi Porter, O.D.

Wyoming Director
1526 Centennial Ct.
Casper, WY 82609
[email protected]
(307) 237-6025



2150 N 107th St. | Suite 205
Seattle, WA 98133
[email protected]
(206) 209-5273

Patty Anderson, CAE
Association Executive

Tiffany Hanzo
Member Services Manager

Rachel Horgan
Event Manager

Connor Boyd
Marketing & Communication Coordinator

Ally McGuire
Event Coordinator

Past Presidents

2017-2018 Dr. Curtis Ono, WA
2016-2017 Dr. Rand Siekert, AZ
2015-2016 Dr. Mark Lee, NV
2014-2015 Dr. Paul Barney, AK
2013-2014 Dr. Sue Lowe, WY
2012-2013 Dr. Doug Safley, MT
2011-2012 Dr. Scott Nehring, OR
2010-2011 Dr. David Masihdas, UT
2009-2010 Dr. Eugene Young, HI
2008-2009 Dr. Ron Benner, MT
2007-2008 Dr. Doug Devries, NV
2006-2007 Dr. Stacey Meier, AZ
2005-2006 Dr. Carol Marusich, OR
2004-2005 Dr. Dawn Miller, CA

2003-2004 Dr. Jerry Gustafson, WA
2002-2003 Dr. Terry Brenner, UT
2001-2002 Dr. Aaron Mancuso
2000-2001 Dr. Brian Mach, AZ
1999-2000 Dr. Everett King, WY
1998-1999 Dr. James Grimes, 
1997-1998 Dr. Ray Mans, OR
1996-1997 Dr. Ken King, ID
1995-1996 Dr. Art Kobayashi, HI
1994-1995 Dr. Dave Hubbard, NV
1993-1994 Dr. William Simons, MT
1992-1993 Dr. Robin Kelly-Cameron, WA
1991-1992 Dr. Kenji Hamada, OR

In Loving Memory - Dr. Harue Marsden

We are saddened by the loss of our dear friend and valued colleague, Dr. Harue Marsden on February 2, 2017. Harue was a long-time board member and President-Elect of the Great Western Council of Optometry (GWCO). Her leadership and dedication has played a pivotal role in the growth and success of GWCO. Harue’s physical presence will be sorely missed, but her spirit will live on in our hearts and minds. As Helen Keller once said, “What we have once enjoyed, we can never lose. All that we love deeply becomes part of us.”

In dedication of the life and career of Harue Marsden, OD, MS, ’87, professor and associate dean for clinical education at Marshall B. Ketchum University, the university has set up a Dr. Harue J. Marsden Memorial Fund to create scholarships and a lasting tribute. Visit the university website for additional details.