Congratulations to Our 2023 Award Winners

Celebrating industry professionals. Take a moment to check out our recent award winners and get a glimpse of past awardees.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. Brian Mach, OD

In recognition of his outstanding contributions to the field of optometry and his unwavering commitment to public service, Dr. Brian Mach is honored with the 2023 GWCO Lifetime Achievement Award. Dr. Mach's remarkable tenure on the Arizona Board, spanning from 2009 to 2018, with a notable term as President from 2011 to 2015, has left an indelible mark on the Arizona's pursuit of public protection and its overarching mission. His tireless dedication to fostering growth, collaboration, and positive change within the Arizona Board has resulted in significant advancements, including amendments to the Optometric Practice Act to broaden scope and refine regulations.

Moreover, Dr. Mach's genuine concern for the welfare of the community is evident in his efforts to educate practitioners, provide training, and champion the cause of public protection on a national scale. His unique ability to bridge the gap between the Arizona Board's objectives and the public's needs, characterized by insight, empathy, and strategic acumen, has led to the implementation of impactful initiatives that have improved countless lives. Dr. Mach's passion for community service and unwavering dedication to the Arizona's mission make him a paragon of a Public Servant, with an exceptional capacity to inspire and mobilize others towards meaningful action.

In addition to his distinguished board service, Dr. Mach has maintained his optometry license in Arizona since 1983 and currently serves as the Clinic Director of the Maricopa Medical Center Eye Clinic in Phoenix, Arizona, where he provides essential eye care to low-income residents. His profound legacy within the optometry profession, coupled with his deep personal and professional connections to the state, underscores the immense respect and admiration he garners. Dr. Mach’s receipt of the GWCO Lifetime Achievement Award is a well-deserved recognition of his life-long dedication to the profession and community he holds dear.

OD of the Year Award

Dr. Court Wilkins, OD

Dr. Court Wilkins, the 2023 GWCO OD of the Year, has dedicated eight years unwavering service as a board member of the Utah Optometric Association (UOA), where he even served as president. His leadership has been pivotal in driving optometric scope expansion legislation in Utah, a remarkable achievement in itself.

Dr. Wilkins actively supported the UOA through various initiatives, including organizing the RMU Student Association branch and volunteering for events like the annual Mega CE and Southern Utah CE conferences. Notably, he orchestrated a two-day Mega CE event hosted at Rocky Mountain University College of Optometry, overseeing logistics, speaker invitations, and facilities management. His dedication extended to teaching continuing education classes on serum tears and dry eye treatment, benefiting local optometrists.

Dr. Wilkins also made significant strides in the legislative arena by testifying at Legislative Sessions, advocating for optometric scope expansion and educating legislators on optometry school curricula. In the realm of public service he served as Utah State Medical Director for the Opening Eyes Special Olympics program, providing essential vision-related services to athletes.

Dr. Wilkins also volunteered at various clinics, impacting over 440 patients pro-bono, and participated in charitable events offering eye care to underserved populations. His commitment extended to education, teaching Sunday School for young adults. Dr. Wilkins's achievements culminated in monumental milestones, including the accreditation of Rocky Mountain University College of Optometry, where he revolutionized clinical training, initiated partnerships with universities and organizations, and established a surgical center on campus. Moreover, he led a scholarship program for RMU Optometry students, securing substantial funding. Dr. Wilkin’s exceptional contributions have left an enduring legacy in the field of optometry and the wider community.

Past Recipients - Lifetime Achievement Award:

  • 2022 - David Stanfield, OD
  • 2021 - Thomas W. Theune, OD
  • 2020 - Sue E. Lowe, OD
  • 2019 - John Rush, OD
  • 2018 - Kenneth White, OD
  • 2017 - Harue Masden, OD
  • 2016 - Don Jarnagin, OD
  • 2015 - Kenji Hamada, OD

Past Recipients - OD of the Year Award:

  • 2022 - Jon F. Pederson, OD
  • 2021 - David McBride, OD
  • 2020 - Sean Claflin, OD
  • 2019 - Mamie Chan, OD
  • 2018 - Mark Lee, OD
  • 2017 - Robert Theaker, OD
  • 2016 - Dawn Miller, OD
  • 2015 - Deanna Alexander, OD
  • 2014 - Coby Ramsey, OD
  • 2013 - David Wolf, OD
  • 2012 - Douglas K. Devries, OD
  • 2011 - Lori Z. Youngman, OD
  • 2010 - Dr. Joesph Mallenger
  • 2009 - Dr. Stacey Meier
  • 2008 - Dr. Garard "Jerry" Gustafson
  • 2007 - Allen Hudson, OD
  • 2006 - Stephen Cohen, OD
  • 2005 - James Grimes, OD
  • 2004 - James F. Holder, OD, FAAO
  • 2003 - Richard Hopping, OD
  • 2002 - Dennis Kuwabara, OD
  • 2001 - Art Kobayashi, OD
  • 2000 - Pat Cummings, OD
  • 1999 - Carol Marusich, OD
  • 1998 - Cynthia Murrill, OD
  • 1997 - Kenji Hamada, OD
  • 1996 - Ken Johnson, OD
  • 1995 - Robin Comeron, OD
  • 1994 - Libbi Ann Tracy, OD
  • 1993 - John Rush, OD
  • 1993- Don Jarnagin, OD 

Past Recipients - Leadership Awards:

  • Curtis Ono, OD with the 2017 President Award
  • Rand Siekert, OD, with the 2016 Past President Award

GWCO Past Presidents:

  • 2022-2023 Dr. Gabby Marshall, OR
  • 2021-2022 Dr. Mamie Chan, NM
  • 2020-2021 Dr. Hilary Hawthorne, CA
  • 2019-2020 Dr. Michael Judkins, UT
  • 2018-2019 Dr. Douglas Melzer
  • 2017-2018 Dr. Curtis Ono, WA
  • 2016-2017 Dr. Rand Siekert, AZ
  • 2015-2016 Dr. Mark Lee, NV
  • 2014-2015 Dr. Paul Barney, AK
  • 2013-2014 Dr. Sue Lowe, WY
  • 2012-2013 Dr. Doug Safley, MT
  • 2011-2012 Dr. Scott Nehring, OR
  • 2010-2011 Dr. David Masihdas, UT
  • 2009-2010 Dr. Eugene Young, HI
  • 2008-2009 Dr. Ron Benner, MT
  • 2007-2008 Dr. Doug Devries, NV
  • 2006-2007 Dr. Stacey Meier, AZ
  • 2005-2006 Dr. Carol Marusich, OR
  • 2004-2005 Dr. Dawn Miller, CA
  • 2003-2004 Dr. Jerry Gustafson, WA
  • 2002-2003 Dr. Terry Brenner, UT
  • 2001-2002 Dr. Aaron Mancuso
  • 2000-2001 Dr. Brian Mach, AZ
  • 1999-2000 Dr. Everett King, WY
  • 1998-1999 Dr. James Grimes
  • 1997-1998 Dr. Ray Mans, OR
  • 1996-1997 Dr. Ken King, ID
  • 1995-1996 Dr. Art Kobayashi, HI
  • 1994-1995 Dr. Dave Hubbard, NV
  • 1993-1994 Dr. William Simons, MT
  • 1992-1993 Dr. Robin Kelly-Cameron, WA
  • 1991-1992 Dr. Kenji Hamada, OR
See Board of Directors